District Architect, San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District (BART)

Tian Feng, FAIA, FCSI, is the District Architect of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District (BART), and was an architectural advisor on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Advisory Committee. Appointed by Gov. Jerry Brown, Feng is currently an Executive Member of California State Architects Board.

Feng has broad responsibilities for BART’s infrastructure. He created and administrates BART Facilities Standards which has provided design and construction standards for station’s and infrastructural investment valued over billions of dollars. He initiated climate change adaptation effort by partnering with Federal Transit Administration (FTA) and developed systems resiliency strategies at BART. He has also pioneered many sustainability initiatives and formulated BART Sustainability Policy in 2002. He is the founder and chief editor of the Transit Sustainability Guidelines, a project sponsored by US EPA and DOT and published by American Public Transportation Association (APTA). Feng speaks and publishes on subjects of sustainability, urban mobility, transportation infrastructure and climate change adaptation internationally. He lectured at the Chinese Mayors Training Center in Beijing in 2008 and facilitated the discussions among the attending mayors on transportation & development at the National Mayors Conference in Chicago in 2011. Feng was the principal investigator and the lead author of BART Climate Change Adaptation Assessment Pilot, published by FTA in 2013.

Feng received his degrees of Master of Building Science from School of Architecture at University of Southern California (USC) and Bachelor of Engineering (Architectural Engineering) from Tongji University. Feng was elevated as a fellow of American Institute of Architects (AIA) in 2008, and a fellow of Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) in 2005. He is a member of National Council of Architectural Registration Board, and a sustaining member of university architectural accreditation visiting team of the National Architectural Accreditation Board.